Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

This section is for the Yamaha Motif MO, MM6 and MM8 Keyboards

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Clyde, Saul, Fozzer

Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:05 pm

Hello,
I have a Yamaha MM6 and the LCD display went bad a few months ago. I bought a new LCD display and installed it yesterday. It is so dark that is is unreadable, even with the LCD Contrast knob at maximum. On the old display there were 2 wires -- a red one and a white one -- that on one end were connected to a pin on a brown-coloured motherboard. The other ends were soldered to "+" and "-" points on the display. On the new display are 2, very small, copper-coloured squares labeled "+" and "-" but I see no way or place to solder the 2 wires. Can somebody please advise?
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby Clyde » Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:45 pm

Hi nomad103,
Welcome to the Forums! Hopefully one of our more tech oriented members can offer you a solution.
Clyde
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.
User avatar
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Richmond, VA USA

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:12 pm

I hope so too! Thank you for noticing my post, Clyde.
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby synthjoe » Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:36 pm

Pretty obviously your backlight is not working - and the two pads you've noticed are most likely the place where backlight power supply should be connected. However, without knowing the exact display I could not be sure, but you can give it a try with a 5V power source and a resistor of - say - 1k or 2k in series. If that makes the display backlight glow faintly, then you can try a smaller resistor and finally without a resistor at all (or one with a value around 5-15 ohms to be on the safe side) to see if it works. Btw, the solder pads might also be located elsewhere than on the original display, usually there are two or even three pairs of pads to connect - so have a good look!
synthjoe
Member
Member
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:29 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:44 pm

Okay, this is helpful, synthjoe. I'll open it up again and take a closer look. I suspect that the 2 wires are the backlight power supply you mention. I have some experimenting to do, and thanks again for your help. I'll post my results when I have some. BTW: Do you know which is the "hot" wire? The red or the white one?
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby synthjoe » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:08 pm

Usually it is the red, but it is perhaps best to check with a multimeter to be sure.
synthjoe
Member
Member
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:29 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:16 pm

I don't have a multimeter so I'll go with red and hope that's the right choice. I'll have the time tomorrow to do this so I'll let you know how it goes, synthjoe.
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby Clyde » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:40 pm

Just for future reference, you can get an inexpensive multimeter for $6-$7, very handy tool for working on electronics, an automobile or around the house.
Clyde
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.
User avatar
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Richmond, VA USA

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:08 pm

I didn't know they were so inexpensive, Clyde. Thanks for that information. That's a good investment so I'll look into that as I have to do most of the repairs on my synths/keyboards myself.
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby synthjoe » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:35 pm

In that case it is practically indispensable. Perhaps you'd even deserve a better one, they really are VERY inexpensive. When I bought my first handheld DMM it was around $300. A good quality, top grade one still costs at least this much, but the lower end of the game has changed enormously in the last 20 or so years.
synthjoe
Member
Member
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:29 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:31 pm

Hmmm. Food for thought. I'll be looking at eBay tomorrow and phoning around my "neighbourhood" to see what certain places like "Radio Shack", or "Futire Shop" are charging. Thanks, Clyde.
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby Clyde » Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:38 pm

If you're in the US, both Harbour Freight and Northern Tool often have them on sale very cheap, like $3.
Radio Shack is also usually a reasonable cost ($7-$15 for basic ones). And don't forget Lowes and Home Depot have them in their electrical depts.
Clyde
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.
User avatar
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Richmond, VA USA

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:25 pm

Excellent! Thanks for the update, Clyde.
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby nomad103 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:38 pm

I talked with a tech in the U.S. and with one here in Canada. Between the both of them I soldered the red and white wires successfully to the proper "+" and "-" points. It works great now. I still intend to find a multimeter, though. I wasted 2-3 days waiting to hear from techs. Anyway, thanks for all your help, Clyde. Hope you have a Happy Holiday Season.
nomad103
Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: Yamaha MM6 Display Problem

Unread postby Miks » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:08 pm

Glad to see it works for you! Have Phun with your MM6... :mrgreen:
My gear (in alphabetical order):
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1, M1R, Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID, EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (with 'Cool Blue' mod), TG500, TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x)
User avatar
Miks
Member
Member
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Yamaha Motif MO,MM6 & MM8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest