dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

This section is for all variants of the Yamaha DX series. DX1/DX100/DX11/DX21/DX27/DX27S/DX5/ DX7/DX7IID/DX7IIFD/DX7S/DX9/TX81Z

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Clyde, Saul, Fozzer

dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

Unread postby dalecarlica » Fri Jun 07, 2013 1:34 am

Can anyone shed some light on howcome I can dump my DX11 (and DX100) sysex data into my Roland XP-50 by simply pressing button 20 on the DX11 repeadedly, untill I get to the screen saying "Dump Internal Voices"? Works like a breeze when recorded at beginning of a "song" on XP, yet nothing on Fantom. Not the slightest evidence if any external sysex's on Fantom! And yes, my MIDI channels do match and I use the same cable. Please help!!!!
Yamaha DX11,DX100,TX-81Z, PSR-36,PSS-795, PSS-560,Fender Rhodes suitcase 88, Wurlitzer 200A, Roland XP-50, Roland X-6 Fantom, Roland U-220 and ten fingers;-)
User avatar
dalecarlica
Member
Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Pretoria, South Africa

Re: dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

Unread postby Derek » Fri Jun 07, 2013 10:39 pm

Hi. These are two completely different synths with incompatible architectures. So they will not understand each other's Sysex dumps
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Wales, UK

Re: dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

Unread postby dalecarlica » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:23 pm

Thanks for your prompt reply Derek, but in all honesty the Roland XP is a ......Roland and the sequencer is merely used as a MIDI data filer. If the XP can do it, ( even my laptop-using either Cakewalk or Cubase) so should the Fantom. Or am I completely losing the plot here?
Yamaha DX11,DX100,TX-81Z, PSR-36,PSS-795, PSS-560,Fender Rhodes suitcase 88, Wurlitzer 200A, Roland XP-50, Roland X-6 Fantom, Roland U-220 and ten fingers;-)
User avatar
dalecarlica
Member
Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Pretoria, South Africa

Re: dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

Unread postby Derek » Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:53 am

Ok, it wasn't clear from your original post that you want to just store the Sysex data to play it back into the DX at some point.

It should work as you say. The one thing to check would be the sequencer setup to see if SYSEX data is being filtered out. After that, you need a Roland expert and I'm a Yamaha man!
User avatar
Derek
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2008
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Wales, UK

Re: dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

Unread postby Sonus » Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:03 pm

If Fantom system setting USB midi modus is selected, MIDI IN connector is switched off.
User avatar
Sonus
Member
Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:00 am

Re: dumping DX11 sysex's into Roland Fantom X-6

Unread postby dalecarlica » Sun Jun 09, 2013 12:32 am

Wow, thanx Sonus. I would have NEVER figured that out and yes Derek, I made quite sure the Fantom was not filtering sysex's out!
Yamaha DX11,DX100,TX-81Z, PSR-36,PSS-795, PSS-560,Fender Rhodes suitcase 88, Wurlitzer 200A, Roland XP-50, Roland X-6 Fantom, Roland U-220 and ten fingers;-)
User avatar
dalecarlica
Member
Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Pretoria, South Africa


Return to Yamaha DX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests