Yamaha MEP4

Kick back and talk about anything here. Music or non Music related..Anything goes....within reason!

Moderators: parametric, Derek, Clyde, Saul, Fozzer

Yamaha MEP4

Unread postby Clyde » Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:19 am

For anyone that may be looking for a Yamaha MEP4 midi event processor, there are currently two of them on eBayUS. They are said to be in full working order, I have no connection to or knowledge about the sellers. The MEP4 is a very useful tool (often nicknamed the Swiss Army knife of MIDI"), I've been using two of them in my home studio since the late '80s and still use them today. I did a short review of them on this website in the equipment review area.
Clyde
DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.
Clyde
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Yamaha MEP4

Unread postby novoline » Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:56 am

I'm considering getting one of these- what is the extent of the capabilities of the midi echo/delay feature?
novoline

Unread postby Clyde » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:09 am

I'd have to look up the maximum times in the manual, not something I normally use them for as that can eat up polyphony in a hurry. You can set delays of a note or echoes (which is actually just repeats of a note though you can set lower velocities for each repeat) and I find that an outboard effects unit is much better at producing echoes without affecting polyphony. I have my MEP4s setup to take program change messages from my master keyboard and send the correct program change to every midi device in my setup, I also use them to convert some controller messages to other controller messages in real time, add or subtract velocity from notes with or without specific note ranges, the possibilities are almost limitless, you have to use your imagination to decide what you want them to do then program the processors to carry out your intent. You may want to download the MEP4 manual ad read through it, and that is only the basics of what can be done.